A path for a purpose…

cropped-lavender-894919_1280I have been ignited y’all!  Im not quite sure where to share my story, except here…where I can write to you all about what I have been up to!  You are all familiar with my art – somewhat – since that is what I have been writing about.  But, that is just one branch of my life.  I think I need to clue you in to the rest of my passions!

First and foremost, I am a mother.  Everything I do stems from this place of being…how can I be the best version of myself that I can be?  I am constantly shifting, changing, exploring, and searching for tools, insights, and self-reflections that will help me grow, evolve, and drop into my authentic being.  Authenticity has been my most recent quest.  How do I make art that reflects my voice?  How do I live my life according to my values? How do I shed the societal influence that causes me to second-guess myself and my choices? How do I trust my own inner voice – my own instincts – and direct my children and family towards my vision for our life? Do I have the courage to fully be myself and risk rejection? I have been feeling inspired and elated lately to take this existential plunge.

I have been on a journey to pursue health and wellness since I was an adolescent.  I was diagnosed with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome after two bouts of mono – one when I was just 8 years old in 3rd grade.  I could not make a day of school without falling asleep.  There was nothing anyone could do for me through western medicine.  Essentially there was nothing wrong with me, according to the doctors, there was no medicine they could give or surgery they could recommend.  I did finally “recover” only to go through it again junior year of high school.  It was then that I started to explore alternative medicine – I went to chiropractors, naturopathic doctors, put on supplements, homeopathy, and was told I need to drastically change my diet – which was white rice, a ton of milk, and lots of junk food.  I called the doctor a quack, cried, and refused to change, and struggled to change years after that appointment.

Fast forward to today, I have two children and have learned a lot about diet, nutrition, health and wellness, and alternative medicine through my own exhausted journey.  I have seen, first hand, the strength of plant-based medicine, regular chiropractic care for myself and my children, outside play, limited screen time, and keeping a calm and serene sanctuary for my family and kids to reside in. As a mom, I like to have tools in my belt to support myself and my family.  Having a sense of control has been an important tool in my belt (though I’m working on letting go of the need to control), but when it comes to health and wellness, I am still a control freak!

Segway into my latest tool, and I am sure you are kind of sick of seeing them all over Facebook!  Welcome to essential oils!  I have been using oils for years and knew about Young Living way back to my teenage years and my chiropractor’s office in Jenkintown – circa 20 years ago.  They are the most potent part of the plant; shrub, seed, flower, tree, root, fruit, rind, resin and herb…distilled at the right temperature, and sold in a bottle.  They are a part of our everyday.  From diffusing lavender, lemon and peppermint for seasonal allergies to Purification to purify our air quality after germs / sickness / dry heat.  I lavender my kids before bed to support sleep.  I come at my husband with RC when he has a cold.  I use Thieves on my kids for immune support when they are working through a virus.  I lather myself with Peace and Calm before I see clients so that I stay in present moment with them and their struggles.  I cannot and will not live without them.

I currently have a small, wooden, apothecary type cabinet to hold them along with our other natural remedies and supplements.  I am giddy excited when I go to pull out something I know, is pure – from the plant – and strong…yet gentle enough not to overwhelm the body and the nervous system.  We ingest them (only Young Living’s vitality line), we diffuse them to create a calm / serene environment, and we apply them topically.  My kids ask for them everyday.  My husband is exploring them.  And I am telling everyone I know about them, because I decided “no more hiding”…if I have a tool that works, and can work for most people to support their family in health and wellness, why would I hide that from people?  Essential oils are blowing up the market.  People are discovering their power!  People are elated, like I am, to have a tool in their belt to turn to before some harsher / over-the-counter medications.  Oils are not meant to replace medicine.  They are not used to treat and cure disease.  They are used as a proactive tool to help support the body’s processes in support of overall wellness.

IMG_2069

In the next coming months, I am going to do a deep dive on oils and emotions.  My family is emotional – no way around that fact.  My kids are sensitive.  They act out their emotions behaviorally and their sense of self can change on a dime.  Happy to tears in a moment – I am sure you all can relate.  I know emotions are stored in areas of the body and I know that certain oils can help release those blocks.  Aroma and mood have always been linked, imagine smelling baking bread in the oven, and all of a sudden your mood changes to calm, serene, and content.

For now, my journey continues to be for health, wellness, toxic-free, organic foods, spiritual pursuits, present moment mommy, grounded therapist, creative artist and life-long learner.  I am finding my tribe, my passions, and showing up everyday to be the best version of a woman I can be – a role-model for my kids to pursue their passions!  I trust that I am being guided and I am going to try my best to lean into the journey. Just me, my family, my art, my oils, and my heart.

To learn more about Young Living essential oils or order your Premium Starter kit click HERE.  Or leave me a message below!

Namaste!

SFP_3781                                                                  My family – 2017 – photograph credit Sharyn Frenkel Photography.

Art and oils – more to come with this idea…This piece of art was created while diffusing Joy…I feel this piece captures the essence of Joy as I feel it opens up my heart and makes me feel elated- what do you think? Leave me your thoughts below!  If your interested in any of my artwork, please visit my shop!

EthericOcean_wm_72

“Ethereal Joy”, 12″x 12″, Acrylic on Paper, 2017

 

 

 

Leave a comment